Farmaceutski-biokemijski fakultet

University of Zagreb
Faculty of Pharmacy and Biochemistry
since 1882

Department of Medical Biochemistry and Haematology

Address: Domagojeva 2, 10000 Zagreb
Department head: prof. dr. sc. Karmela Barišić

Department provides teaching for 20 courses at graduate level mainly dealing with general biochemistry, clinical biochemistry, laboratory medicine, molecular diagnostics, haematology, molecular basis of disease and therapy and Pharmacogenomics. Members of Department are teaching several courses in PhD programme Pharmaceutical and Biochemical Sciences and Postgraduate Specialist Studies. Scientific research is mainly focused on oxidative stress and inflammation and proteins and genes involved in development of chronic diseases. We study diagnostic potentials of nucleic acids and regulation of gene expression. Offices and laboratories of the Department are located in Domagojeva str 2 (2nd floor).

Staff

Title Name Status E-mail Phone
prof. dr. sc. Karmela Barišić Full professor kbarisic@pharma.hr 01 6394 783
prof. dr. sc. József Petrik Full professor jpetrik@pharma.hr 01 6394 784
prof. dr. sc. Lada Rumora Full professor lrumora@pharma.hr 01 6394 782
prof. dr. sc. Mirna Sučić Full professor mirna.sucic@yahoo.com 01 3712 369
prof. dr. sc. Renata Zadro Full professor rzadro@pharma.hr 01 4612 718
izv. prof. dr. sc. Roberta Petlevski Associate professor rpetlevski@pharma.hr 01 6394 785
izv. prof. dr. sc. Dunja Rogić Associate professor dunjarogic@hotmail.com 01 2367 288
izv. prof. dr. sc. Nada Vrkić Associate professor nvrkic@gmail.com 01 4612 606
izv. prof. dr. sc. Ksenija Fumić Associate professor ksenija.fumic@kbc-zagreb.hr 01 2367 244
doc. dr. sc. Marija Grdić Rajković Assistant professor mgrdic@pharma.hr 01 6394 786
dr. sc. Anita Somborac Bačura Senior assistant - research associate asomborac@pharma.hr 01 6394 780
Andrea Hulina Assistant ahulina@pharma.hr 01 6394 787
Andrea Čeri Assistant aceri@pharma.hr 01 6394 780
Vesna Boričević Senior technician vboricevic@pharma.hr 01 6394 788
Mira Ćosić Senior technician mcosic@pharma.hr 01 4557 615
Suzana Hrajnik Trninić Senior technician shrajnik@pharma.hr 01 6394 788
Ružica Vezmarović Administrative clerk rvezmarovic@pharma.hr 01 4612 606

Compulsory courses

Title
Introduction to the study of medical biochemistry
Cytology and histology
Biochemistry
General clinical biochemistry
Haematology 1
Haematology 2
Clinical biochemistry with haematology
Clinical biochemistry of the organs and organic systems 1
Clinical biochemistry of the organs and organic systems 2
Coagulation
Immunochemistry
Molecular diagnostics
Neurochemistry
Special areas of clinical biochemistry
Transfusiology and immunohaematology
Integrated course of laboratory diagnostics

Elective courses

Title
Biological membranes and cell signalling
Molecular basis of diseases and therapy
Free radicals and antioxidants in health and disease
Culturing of cells and cell lines
Pharmacogenetics
Emergency laboratory diagnosis